Travelling to Sikkim from these states? You need an RT-PCR test | Condé Nast Traveller India

A sharp spike in COVID cases has led several states to tighten their rules for entry. Sikkim is the latest to join the list. Travellers from West Bengal, Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Telangana and Karnataka will need to present a negative RT-PCR test to enter the state.

Sikkim RT-PCR test requirement 

The test needs to be no more than 72 hours old. A Rapid Antigen test will not be accepted and those who are not carrying a negative test will not be allowed to board the plane, according to a report. 

The State Health Department will depute officials at Siliguri airport in West Bengal as well to check on individuals from the six states. “When people reach Siliguri, it remains untapped as to where they are coming from. Hence, we will establish a mechanism for scrutiny of such people entering Sikkim.” said the Principal Secretary (Health) K Sreenavasansulu as per a report

Sikkim is just one of the many states to change their rules for entry. Last week, Uttarakhand made testing compulsory for people arriving from Maharashtra, Gujarat, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh. Those travelling to Karnataka from Maharashtra and Kerala will also have to present a negative RT-PCR test. 

Here’s the complete list of Indian states that now require an RT-PCR test. 

Updated: March 5, 2021 — 5:54 am

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *