10 Most Exciting Things About LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga

The LEGO Star Wars series is about to come back in a big way. After covering the prequel trilogy, the original trilogy, both trilogies together in a bundle, The Clone Wars, and The Force Awakens, the franchise is being revived for LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga, which will span the entire Star Wars universe and retell the story of the entire nine-part “Skywalker saga.”

RELATED: Star Wars: The 10 Most Exciting Projects In Development

Apart from the actual existence of the game, which is reason enough to get excited about it, there are plenty of reasons to look forward to the highly anticipated release of LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga.

10 Playing Through All Nine Movies

Kylo Ren in Lego Star Wars The Skywalker Saga


While the prequel and original trilogies have been turned into LEGO gameplay and the relatively thin plot of The Force Awakens was stretched across an entire game, The Skywalker Saga will be the first time that all nine movies will be playable.

The Last Jedi and The Rise of Skywalker have never been LEGO-ized before, while the movies that fans have played through are getting a slick update.

9 Revamping Episodes I-VI

Luke vs Vader in Lego Star Wars The Skywalker Saga

The first couple of LEGO Star Wars games were played over and over and over throughout many a childhood as young fans of both Star Wars and LEGO could enjoy two of their favorite things at the same time while stimulating their brains with puzzles.

However, going back to LEGO Star Wars: The Complete Saga today, it feels very dated. Many classic moments from The Phantom Menace to Return of the Jedi got butchered due to limited technology. In The Skywalker Saga, those movies are all getting a revamp.

8 The Open World

Lando and R2-D2 in Lego Star Wars The Skywalker Saga

While the earliest LEGO Star Wars games confined their players to a single location, like Dex’s Diner or Mos Eisley Cantina, The Skywalker Saga will be an open-world game, taking place in a hub that spans a bunch of planets, ships, and environments from the Star Wars movies.

Planets and moons that players will be able to explore include Ahch-To, Ajan Kloss, Bespin, Cantonica, Coruscant, Crait, Dagobah, D’Qar, Endor, Exegol, Geonosis, Hoth, Jakku, Kamino, Kashyyyk, Kef Bir, Kijimi, Mustafar, Naboo, Pasaana, Starkiller Base, Takodana, Tatooine, Utapau, and Yavin 4.

7 Almost 500 Characters

Yaddle in Lego Star Wars The Skywalker Saga

The nine movies will be told in five story levels each, as opposed to the standard six, for a grand total of 45 levels. Unlike the other games, which forced the player to go through the story chronologically, players of The Skywalker Saga will be able to start from wherever in the timeline they want.

RELATED: Star Wars: 5 Characters Who Deserved Bigger Roles (& 5 Who Deserved Smaller)

The team behind LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga have confirmed that the game will feature almost 500 characters, and most of them will be playable. One of those playable characters will be Yaddle, the other member of Yoda’s mysterious species on the Jedi Council.

6 The Character Collection

Rogue One DLC in Lego Star Wars The Skywalker Saga

Gamers will be able to buy the Standard Edition or Deluxe Edition of LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga. The latter will include a bundle called the Character Collection, which will bring some characters from outside the Skywalker saga into the mix.

DLCs will allow players to download playable characters from The Mandalorian, Rogue One, Solo: A Star Wars Story, and the upcoming series The Bad Batch.

5 State-Of-The-Art Graphics

Obi-Wan vs Anakin in Lego Star Wars The Skywalker Saga

Based on the gameplay trailer, The Skywalker Saga’s graphics are a huge improvement over their predecessors.

From the yellow tint of the Sith in Anakin’s eyes during the Mustafar duel to the fizzle of Kylo Ren’s lightsaber, this game is filled with beautiful details, brought to life by state-of-the-art graphics.

4 Random Encounters In The Hub

A First Order ship in Lego Star Wars The Skywalker Saga

In the previous LEGO Star Wars games, the hub would be filled with random characters who all flipped out and started a large-scale civil war if a single blaster was fired. In The Skywalker Saga, it’ll be a little more complex than that.

When players are wandering around the game’s vast open world, they’ll encounter random events along the way. A Star Destroyer might suddenly come out of lightspeed and hit players with a fleet of TIE fighters. Players can either engage with these encounters or ignore them and keep going about their business.

3 Vehicles

Republic cruisers in Lego Star Wars The Skywalker Saga

The Star Wars universe has some of the most incredible fictional vehicles ever put on film, from the Millennium Falcon to Anakin’s podracer. All the most exciting vehicles from a galaxy far, far away will be available on command, similar to the availability of vehicles in other recent LEGO games, like the LEGO Marvel Super Heroes series.

RELATED: Star Wars: 10 Canceled Projects That Were Really Promising

There will be podraces on Tatooine and the Falcon will be able to jump to lightspeed. The Mandalorian’s ship Razor Crest has also been confirmed to appear in the game.

2 Original Voice Acting By Returning Cast Members

Luke Skywalker in Lego Star Wars The Skywalker Saga

The first couple of LEGO Star Wars movies substituted spoken dialogue for a series of grunts and mumbles that were meant to represent speech. But The Force Awakens’ LEGO video game adaptation featured original voice work by the entire cast (not just newcomers like Daisy Ridley; grumpy holdouts like Harrison Ford, too) and The Skywalker Saga is following suit.

Mark Hamill, Billy Dee Williams, and Daisy Ridley are all confirmed to reprise their roles, while many other legendary cast members are rumored to be appearing in the game.

1 Updated Combat Gameplay

Obi-Wan vs Darth Maul in Lego Star Wars The Skywalker Saga

As much fun as the old LEGO Star Wars games are, the combat is seriously limited. There’s no way to aim blasters and there are only three different attacks in lightsaber duels.

The designers of The Skywalker Saga have rectified this. Now, lightsaber users have an arsenal of combo moves, including light attacks, heavy attacks, and Force tricks, while blaster users will have an over-the-shoulder camera option akin to a third-person shooter.

NEXT: Star Wars: 5 Rumored Projects We’d Love To See (& 5 We Wouldn’t)

Pokemon Mega Tyranitar Mega Rayquaza

15 Pokémon With The Highest Base Attack

About The Author

Updated: November 14, 2020 — 1:00 am

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *